Let Me Explain

Dear Toto,

Let me explain myself.

First of all, my dog would probably be pissed about me addressing this as “Dear Toto.” But “Dear Xena” didn’t have quite the same kick and this is supposed to be more all-inclusive than just a letter to my dog. “Dear Toto” means Dear Mom and Dad, Dear siblings, Dear friends, Dear classmates; all the people in Kansas who have impacted me, been imprinted on my life, and connected to my heart. It can also mean Dear anyone who wants to read what will probably be sometimes sappy, occasionally embarrassing, and often–hopefully–exciting stories about a random girl from Kansas who spends a year living in Japan.

Secondly, “Dear Kita,” because it has the same rhythm as the first half of the title, that’s what my dad occasionally calls me, and “Kita” means “north” while “Karita” means “borrowed.” I think North sounds pretty fitting for the journey ahead of me, pointing somewhere as if I have any idea where I’m going, and I also believe a change of name, for a while, might do me some good.

Lastly, I know: an English graduate starting a blog is a bit cliché. But I like writing. And I’d like to share this adventure: who I am before I leave, the people I meet, the places I go, the experiences I have, the ideas I come across, and all of the many things I hope to learn. I’d like to be able to look back and see where I’ve been and who I’ve become. I considered writing a journal (an idea I had because of the next blog I’ll post, which I actually wrote over a month ago). But then I thought, “Why not make it a public journal?” Because 2016.

I don’t know what all these stories will entail. I don’t know what is ahead of me. But I promise it will not be boring. So, read it. (Or don’t.) If I have to do this on my own, that’s okay. But I’d love to have company on the crazy journey. Japan can’t be that far from Oz, right?

Love, Kita

Leave a Reply

